RFCCBS 1.1 Overview

1This chapter gives an introduction to this guidance.

RFCCBS 1.1.1 G

1The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) is the registering authority for ‘registered societies’ under the Co-operative and Community Benefit Societies Act 2014 (the Act). Registered societies are:

  1. (1)

    co-operative societies;

  2. (2)

    community benefit societies;

  3. (3)

    pre-commencement societies (societies previously known as ‘industrial and provident societies’). In this document we refer to all registered societies simply as ‘societies’.

RFCCBS 1.1.2 G

1This guidance explains:

  1. (1)

    how we approach our role as registering authority;

  2. (2)

    our policy;

  3. (3)

    certain processes under the Act;

  4. (4)

    how we apply society law in our role as registering authority.

RFCCBS 1.1.3 G

1This guidance may help people:

  1. (1)

    setting up a society;

  2. (2)

    on the board of a society;

  3. (3)

    advising a society.

RFCCBS 1.1.4 G

1Members of societies may also find this guidance useful.